Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Bring on the Inverts!

You can expect to see lots of invertebrates over the next few weeks - I need to get my fix of the tiny world before most of them disappear for the winter.  I had lots of prospects today, including another jumping spider and a tiny crab spider, but decided to go with this Common Banded Overfly (Syrphus ribesii) on a late phlox blossom.  It's a pretty image even if it isn't particularly exciting.  I will put a shot of a Brown Rove Beetle in Extra - an inch-long creature that looks like something out of a horror movie!  Harmless, but not an especially pretty insect.

I haven't felt particularly good today so after lunch, I took a nap. Then Jax and I spent several hours in the back yard.  He likes being out as long as one of us is out with him.  He seemed to enjoy sniffing around, finding sticks to chew, and chasing chipmunks. Enjoying the fence SO much!

I saw one hummingbird briefly this morning but not since so I believe they've both left.  Which leaves the garden feeling just a little empty.  Seven months until they return...  In the meantime, we have a group of 5 tufted titmice who are regularly visiting the feeder.  So even though I will miss the hummers, at least we'll have a daily dose of cute with the titmice.  I can hear chickadees in the woods too.  

And now I think it is time for a ginger beer with a big squeeze of lime!  My daily "mocktail".  

Dark with peppermint today.

xo
Debbi

And thanks to PinkHairedLady for hosting TinyTuesday this month!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.