Arachne

By Arachne

Wins all round

Four days ago someone advertised ten bookcases on our local Freegle. I measured up all the places I could fit bookcases in my house and arranged to go and measure their bookcases. They offered me the five that would fit my spaces (win 1 - bookshelves for me - and win 2 - space for them) and I then tried to arrange transport and someone to help carry. My lovely friend/ex-landlord, B, agreed to help (win 3) and this morning we went to slide five bookcases down three flights of stairs. Plus a sixth which I wasn't sure would fit but which was the prettiest of the lot (win 4).

In her van, B told me she wanted to register as a scrap metal dealer, as I have. Easy! I have a dangerous stepladder to dispose of so once her van was empty of bookcases we loaded it up again with the ladder and the offcuts of copper wiring I've been collecting from the electrician's scatterings. (Copper is £1,700 a ton, folks. Follow in the wake of untidy electricians.)

The scrapyard has agreed to register B as a scrap metal dealer (win 5), though not today as she didn't have her ID with her but they were prepared to credit my metal to her bank card. So that was my contribution to her time and petrol (win 6).

I have now emptied 15 cardboard boxes and advertised them on Freegle for someone who is moving (wins 7 and 8 - boxes for them and space for me).

I have used the smallest bookcase as a bedside table (win 9) to replace one of the kitchen units I got from Freecycle back in April. I asked my next-door neighbour, with whom I shared the free Freecycle kitchen I was given in March (I don't think I've backblipped that extraordinary stroke of luck yet), whether she'd like the kitchen unit and yes she would. Duly delivered to her front door (win 10).

Win 11 is rediscovering all the books I haven't seen for 3½ years.

One downside: I'm shattered!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.