A time for everything

By turnx3

Music Hall

Sunday
It was a lovely service at church this morning, extra special because there was a baptism. The mother, Stephanie, is a member of our Praise Band, and has a lovely voice, and before the baptism she sang the following,
- such beautiful words

A Mother’s Prayer, by Keith and Kristyn Getty
Before you close your eyes to sleep
I have a promise still to keep
As I hold you in my arms.
I pray your little frame grows strong
And that faith takes hold while you are young;
This is my prayer for you.

Hold my hand;
I’ll teach you the Way to go.
Through the joys, through the tears,
The journey of these years,
May you trust Him ‘til the end.
May you trust Him in the end.

This world is not as it should be,
But the Savior opens eyes to see
All that’s beautiful and true.
Oh may His light fill all you are
And the jewel of wisdom crown your heart;
This is my prayer for you.

Hold my hand;
I’ll teach you the Way to go.
Through the joys, through the tears,
The journey of these years,
He is with us ‘til the end.
He is faithful ‘til the end.

You’ll travel where my arms won’t reach
As the road will rise to lead your feet
On a journey of your own.
May my mistakes not hinder you
But His grace remain and guide you through;
This is my prayer for you.

Take His hand
And go where He calls you to.
And whatever comes, seek Him
With all your heart;
This will be my prayer for you.
mmmm Father, hear my ceaseless prayer;
Oh keep them in your care.

We didn’t stay for Bible study today, as we had a Cincinnati Symphony concert at Music Hall, the opening concert of the season. It’s almost always dark when we go to Music Hall, and over the winter, often very cold, so it seemed quite strange to be going on a very warm sunny afternoon. We would normally have gone to last nights performance, but we were out at the Oktoberfest party. It was a wonderful performance, starting with a piece by de Falla, then a Prokofiev violin concerto, culminating in Stravinsky Rite of Spring. We are having a lot of guest conductors at present, since this is the last season for the CSO director Louis Langrais, and so a lot of these guest conductors are possibilities for the position, and being invited in to see how they work with the orchestra.
After the concert, we drove to the riverfront, and went for a walk along the river in the beautiful sunshine. Then we had an early dinner at Nada’s a Mexican place we have really liked in the past, a step up from regular Mexican restaurants. However, they closed for quite a time during Covid, and when they finally came back, they had changed their menu. This time, it seemed to have changed again, and there seemed less choice, and in general the food not as good. It’s a shame, because it’s a nice place, and in a good location for downtown, but I don’t think we’ll be rushing back!
Step count: 11,741

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.