curns' corner

By curns

Staines

It’s just over a year since I tested out the route.

Tuesday, completing the circle. On my first day of this job the trains were cancelled to mess up my arrival and, now, on the last the same thing happened. I’d already decided not to join the team meeting as I thought I’d let them get on with it. 

It was a lovely final day where the developers showed me some completed software based on my requirements and it was exactly what I imagined. Good stuff.

Nice words to end the day, handed back IT and then a nice email from Scott . 

At lunchtime I went to the cafe that I had visited on my initial trip to Staines last September. It was lovely to sit there.  I asked ChatGPT to tell me about Staines and it came up with this:

Staines Town Centre, located in Surrey, England, is a bustling commercial hub offering a variety of shops, restaurants, and entertainment options. With its convenient location near the River Thames and modern amenities, it attracts both local residents and visitors alike.

I wonder if attracting visitors is real? It seems to me these AI systems are quite prone to say things like this. I’m not sure that it’s accurate. I’ve grown to like Staines with all these weekly visits: it has everything you need. I’ll miss coming here. 

I had a quick goodbye with Holly, handed my pass back into reception, and then left the building and took the train home. I was back by about 4:30pm. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.