curns' corner

By curns

It's back

It’s Wednesday and I am heading to my new office.  I might be returning to an old employer, but I am going to be working in a new building in a new part of town.  I know the journey should take just over an hour and I have a couple of alternatives but I left early to make sure I had some contingency. 

On the way to the station, I saw a truck loaded with a new bus shelter.  This will be replacing the one that was damaged by a car a few months ago. I’d read that TFL would not be replacing it until November so this seems like a bit of a win, especially now the weather is getting colder.

I wasn’t taking the bus but the train. Unlike my commute to Staines, where I was going against the flow of people, this is very much with the flow.  I couldn’t board the first train at Raynes Park due to the number of people trying to get on but I did get on the next where I changed at Clapham Junction. The train to Shepherd’s Bush was already standing room only when I boarded, and that’s the starting point. People at the upcoming stations did not have much chance. After I disembarked at Shepherd’s Bush I grabbed a coffee and took a walk to White City. Cornelia was messaging me on the way to wish me luck, which was nice.

They already had a security pass for me at reception which was very organised. I was taken to pick up my IT equipment and delighted to find my laptop is fairly light. The one I returned to Synamedia yesterday was a great machine but quite heavy. This one is pretty much identical to my personal laptop - which I hope causes no confusion - but is much more commutable.  Logging on to my email account and I discovered that all my old emails, from the last time I worked here, were still there. That came as a bit of a shock. I took the decision to archive it all and ignore it. I don’t think I will be needing it.

I met a colleague in the lift on the way up to the office. She commented that she had not seen me for a while and I am not sure she realised I’d been away for a year. An amusing start to the day.

It was a fairly standard first day. Lots of chatting, trying to figure our where the coffee machine is,  and a canteen lunch with JJ. There seems to be plenty of documentation, which is good, and but I need to figure out what’s important for me.

I chose to try the tube journey home (White City to Notting Hill Gate, then down to Wimbledon) which was also standing room only for most of the journey. I have been spoiled in the last year.

I decided a Chinese takeaway was in order for dinner this evening so it was ordered. I was pretty exhausted but managed to check-in with Kallan to see how the trip up to Cardiff went.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.