curns' corner

By curns

Social cricket

This commute is really going to take some getting used to. And South Western Railway seems to have taken the roomy 10 carriage trains out of service with nothing equivalent to replace them. All the trains were packed and I had to resort to pushing my way on to one just to get the first leg of my journey underway. 

A lot of people in the office today. And, although I don’t know many of them, I can start putting faces to names.  There was a town hall. C discussed ‘generative AI’ and how it might be used across the company. Lots of interesting points and, obviously, a lot of experimenting happening across different business units. Later, I discovered that I have a lot of onboarding tasks to complete but there’s something wrong with my company account and I haven’t been notified. I need to try to fix that tomorrow.

At 5pm we were all off to Sixes Social Cricket. It’s one of those experience venues  that seems designed for corporate events. I had intended to go for a few drinks just skip the cricket because I am useless with a bat and ball. However, when it came to my turn I went of it and ended up scoring points for more of the balls bowled at me than not. 

Caught the :08 train from Shepherd’s Bush with Gerry. We parted to our resistive trains at Clapham.  A lovely evening.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.