curns' corner

By curns

Tea

It’s a cup of tea. This particular one is made with a strainer in the middle that holds tea leaves and allows them to be removed without leaving them at the bottom of the cup.  I think this is also an insulated mug because there’s clearly a gap between the outer layer and the inner one but it’s hard to tell because it doesn’t actually hold on to the heat longer than any regular mug.  What’s strange about this mug is that all I have drunk today is tea. 

Ever since the pandemic began, one of us in this house has made a cafetière of coffee first thing in the morning. PY generally has just the one cup and I slowly finish the pot off throughout the morning by heating the coffee mug in the microwave. Even when I am home alone- which is increasingly often now PY is back in the office three days a week - I make a pot for myself.  I only switch to tea after lunch. Today, for some reason I started with tea and stick with it all day. 

Even though I was in bed early last night I don’t think I slept too well but, usually, when I am tired I crave coffee. Maybe it wasn’t as bad as I thought. I did some personal admin first thing. My credit cards bills for this month are bigger than I anticipated. What have I been spending? I know next month will be more because I have the new phone to stump up for. 

I joined a couple of work calls first thing and was warmly greeted on them but I had very limited contributions to make. I need to keep reminding myself that I’m still in the first days but want to get my teeth into something. 

Finally, I used the last of the rice that came from the takeaway last week. It’s not quite a week old. I made a vegetable stir-fry to go with a piece of leftover quiche. I’veread so much about being careful when reheating rice that I am not sure how long it can be left for. This was very well cooked through. 

After work I headed out to my Tai Chi class. I haven’t been for a couple of weeks due to various work commitments. Last week was the first week of the new term and there were obviously quite a few new classmates. I like to make the 8:24pm train home so don’t stay for the tea break. Given the number of new students I might have to stay one week just to learn some names. 

When I got out of the station at Raynes Park it looked like it looked like it had been raining because the pavements were damp and slippy. I completely missed that.  We ate the last of the green curry and watched Celebrity Race Around The World.  It’s four celebrities: each one is travelling with a family member. Of the last episode, The Guardian said: “It is the family dynamics that make the show. You can’t get away from the fact that a glimpse of even C-listers eyerolling their parents, or cowering before them, or bickering with their sisters, is voyeuristic fun”. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.