curns' corner

By curns

Cantucci

I am not sure why I decided to make poached eggs and mushrooms on toast but they were a lovely start to the day. We went to Wimbledon later for a bit of shopping but couldn’t get the bin bags we needed. I went to buy an anniversary card for PY as the one I picked up yesterday wasn’t really what I wanted. We met up outside Morrisons and took a photo in front of the Wombles that are positioned around the square. I have no context why. Just before we headed back I decided that I had a craving for a “good” cheese toastie so we bought some decent cheese and a fresh loaf. 

When we got home, I fried the bread in butter and then melted some of the cheese on top. It didn’t quite melt as I hoped so I gave it a few extra minutes under the grill and it turned out to be delicious: everything I hoped for. 

Later, I went off to Waitrose to do the weekly shop and PY decided to make Cantucci biscuits ready for tonight’s drinks. They were just about ready from the oven when we were about to leave. Given they are supposed to be a hard biscuit, I really liked them fresh from the oven because they had a soft centre. I am not sure that’s authentic. PY was worried they wouldn’t harden in transit but later in the evening they were served up on this plate, with a side of limoncello and were delicious. 

The bus to Streatham was packed because there’s a train strike (again). In fact, if the 131 had not turned up first and taken some of the passengers then we would not have got on the 57 that arrived  right behind it. The crawl to Streatham was slow - but perfectly within the hour that the timetable allows - and we eventually got a seat at Wimbledon (when there was a mass passenger exchange) and then a better one at Tooting Broadway (where there was a similar exodus but fewer people boarding). 

We had a lovely evening with Mark, Rob and Eleanor talking about our upcoming Italian trip and, after we’d had some wine, picking songs for an 80s playlist. Mark made delicious snacks (his crispy courgette were less crispy than he wanted but much more delicious than he implied). We got a bus home just after 1am and then sat with more Cantucci biscuits until we’d exhausted E4’s supply of Taskmaster New Zealand and they went off the air. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.