curns' corner

By curns

Celebration

It was quite hard getting up after a late night yesterday. PY managed it a bit earlier than me but still not leaping out of bed. But I did get up for coffee and breakfast before getting ready to head out. 

I asked PY to look at my foot. I’ve had excruciating pain when wearing shoes and this morning I saw that one of my toes was blood red. A nail that had a sliver poking sideways into the next toe was identified as the cause and a quick snip and a plaster and all the pain was gone. I weekend miracle. 

We got on a train at 1:21pm for Dorking and were at Debbie’s vineyard for a little after 2pm. We ate a sandwich and a tea/coffee in their cafeteria where the food was fine but the ambience terrible. Tables  had not been cleared and everyone seemed disinterested. Luckily, the little vineyard tour we went on was great. It was the voucher that the team bought be when I left last year. 

It’s odd that I am only just using it now that I am back. But, this voucher was for the sparkling train tour and an afternoon tea and I wanted to do it on our anniversary which is why today was chosen. The Greenfields sparkling wine was lovely and the afternoon tea (sandwiches, cakes, scones, tea and more bubbles) delicious: totally contrasted with the earlier cafe experience. 

It was lovely to toast our anniversary in such a beautiful location. The train up the vineyard has views all across the south. There are 360,000 vines and 13 grape varieties, a little harvesting has started but we didn’t see the harvesting machine, although it sounded impressive. 

On the 1709 back. An evening relaxing and cooking the marrow. A chat with Mum and Dad and a lovely early night. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.