curns' corner

By curns

Cheese

Happy anniversary to me and PY.   Usually, for our anniversary we plan something.  As we are going on holiday in a couple of weeks we didn’t want to go away again (and I’ve just started a new job and having to book time for Lanzarote was already a bit awkward).  So we were considering booking a nice restaurant.  However, we seem to be filling-up our weekends though the next few months and I have a dining voucher for The Cheese Barge in Paddington to use up. It was a gift from PY last Christmas and it will be expiring shortly.  So, although I felt a bit bad about forcing the selection on him, I thought it would be a quirky thing to do and would guarantee that the voucher wouldn’t go to waste. And who doesn’t like cheese?

At lunchtime we made our way to Paddington.  Having attempted to visit an Open House last week I knew where I was going & we easily found the barge.  Stepping from the Canalside into the barge reception it was clear what a unique venue this is.  Sadly, the reception was a bit frosty which was a little concerning. But, I need not have worried because the remainder of the experience was delightful.  We’d booked towards the end of lunch service - but before they stopped serving the main menu - and so the restaurant was emptying. It didn’t stop some people turning up asking to sit on the outside deck. It was a bright, but chilly, day and I thought they were quite brave.  By the time we left I noticed they’d come back inside to a free table.

My voucher included a number of ‘cheeseboards’ so we made our selection which included Truffled Baron Bigod and Gorwydd Caerphill. There’s a small side with each cheese (piccalilli with the Caerphilly) and they were all delicious and very different.  I think my favourite was the Baron Bigod but I also loved the Cropwell Bishop Stilton.  PY had read about the Westcombe Fried Curried Cheese Curds which is a small plate additional order but we ordered - and devoured - them between the cheeses. It was quite amazing how so many small nibbles can be filling.  

We’ve tried all three Cheese Bar venues: the barge, the bar and the Pick & Cheese conveyor belt. They are all very different but , for cheese lovers, they are wonderful.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.