JennyOwen

By JennyOwen

School pick-up

An eye test in the morning: a slight increase in longsightedness, meaning a need for new lenses. Since the varifocals I use are eye-wateringly (boom boom) expensive, thank goodness the current frames can be re-used... But at least there are no other concerns. I only have proper sight in one eye - the other being what used to be called a 'lazy eye' - and so eye tests always make me feel a little anxious.
In the afternoon I met Eben from school, the source of my blip for today, with a little added Prisma faffing. The choreography of the school run is always absorbing: the patient line of assorted parents, grandparents and others waiting at the locked electric gates; the quick walk in once they swing open; the ways in which we arrange ourselves in the playground while we wait for each year group to emerge.   As I have to get Eben to his swimming lesson at 3.30, and normal school finish-time for his year is 3.20, I've arranged to pick him up 10 minutes early. It's the only way we can make it to swimming on time. And it was a good swimming lesson today. I've watched him progress from thrashing around to today's near-perfect execution of the front crawl, moving smoothly through the water and turning his head to breathe calmly every few strokes. I wish I could do the front crawl as well as he now does!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.