tempus fugit

By ceridwen

Re[tro]spect

I never  walk this sweep of land, an almost-island protruding from the main, without thinking of the time, eight years ago, when I walked it with Kendall and Sue. Then, in late May, the slopes were  colour-washed with bluebells; now they are rusty with fading bracken. The second extra in the blip I made that day shows how it was then, along with some of the other delights of that perfect day.

I didn't catch up with Kendall's recent blips until the end of today when I was already ready for bed. The one I lighted upon, In Praise of Katalin Karikó, is in my opinion one of Kendall's finest ever and carries all the hallmarks of her writing: empathy, intelligence, compassion, wisdom, respect for individual human lives and the ability to connect the personal to the political without losing sight of either.

I will not walk this way with Kendall again but I feel incredibly fortunate to retain, through Blipfoto, a direct connection with her unique and precious mind as we go forward into the unknown, the future.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.