PandaPics

By pandammonium

Beach

Obviously, when you think of Japan, you think of sand, sea and sun.

We got the train to Zushi beach. I was staring off into the distance when I noticed the perfect-volcano shape of a mountain in the clouds.

Mr Pandammonium peered at it. ‘Isn’t that Mount Fuji?’

Mount Fuji is the shape of volcanos in children’s drawings of volcanoes. It’s rare to find one that shape. The one in Iceland we went into wasn’t that shape; nor was the one in Hawaii that threatened to erupt at any time.

We checked on our maps for that, and confirmed to our satisfaction that it was in indeed Mount Fuji. This was pleasing because on each of our trips on the bullet train, it had been hidden by clouds.

After Mount Fuji again hid itself in clouds, Mr Pandammonium went for a wander while I read my book in the sun. When he came back, I went for a plodge in the sea.

I was wondering if the sea here would be cold like the North Sea or boiling like the sea round Singapore. It was cold at the first lap around the skin, but it was actually quite a pleasant temperature. Not warm, not cold, but just right.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.