Travels With 4 Wheel Fred

By HRGibbon

Going Round In Circles

Well, a few 360ºs turns, the odd straight bit and a lot of cones.
This is me, doing an autotest, with the OH sat next to me to keep me on the right course and "Colin" is our ever so handsome Corsa B Sport. :)

Third autotest of the year, I don't think I'm improving much. Turning the steering wheel quick enough from lock to lock is proving tricky. I like to think it's because Colin has no power steering and my arms end up like jelly by the 4th or 5th test (There are normally 10 tests on an event).

It's time to either buy some weights and build my arm muscles up, or persuade the OH to operate on Colin and put power steering in. I like the 2nd option.

Didn't do too badly though. Finished 9th out of 14 finishers. I got the same total time as 8th, but because the other guy had got a faster 1st test, he got the 8th spot.

Only issue is now my wrist is in a bandage as I whacked my wrist bone on something near the start of the day, and kept going.... it was only on the way home did I realise that something was extremely painful and swollen.

It was worth it though. Brilliant, brilliant fun!! You can see the other cars/drivers here

(Thanks to B. Lindsay for the photo)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.