Sprout lover

By robharris35

Crédito

(Phone) credit.

I like this raggedy bench and tree sign, where someone at one time sold phone credit to passersby.

Quite a restless day, mostly thinking about the future. Although I’m getting a much healthier work/life balance than during the last fifteen years in terms of hours spent at a laptop, it’s striking how much work dominates the stresses and patterns of day to day to life. I didn’t expect achieving more balance to lead to a desire to make a more significant change, but I suppose this is the result of having more time to think.

First and foremost, in the medium term I want to take time out to travel, which I should be able to do for a fair chunk of time if I’m strict about saving and economical about spending. I’m a simple soul who thrives off budget travel, so this will be key to a career break. Work-wise I’d like to change gear into something more directly humanitarian focused whenever my contract in Tanzania ends. There are so many options and organisations out there and doing some initial searching today felt exciting.

I spent some time sunbathing in the afternoon. However in direct contravention of earlier remarks about daily balance, Sunday evening was spent on a long call so we could start get a head start on the work required this week. When this is the norm within a sector, it’s fair to reach the conclusion that it’s not somewhere to stay for the duration of a career.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.