What I've Done

By JohnGravett

Buttermere

Margery was still in Keswick today, so I picked her up from her Hotel and took her over to Buttermere - she particularly wanted to visit "the tree" whilst it was still standing. 

I was determined not to photograph the tree (though of course, I did). But I did rather like this shot of one of the many other trees, with the roots extending into the water. The wind was gusting very hard, so I used a Big Stopper to give a 30 second exposure to smooth the water. The tree's branches didn't look right moving so much, so another shot at 1/10th second rectified that. I then combined the two images in PS to use the 30 sec exposure on the lower half of the picture and the 1/10 sec exposure on the top. Thus giving me sharp branches and clouds, but with soft water.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.