Capital adventures

By marchmont

Down a rabbit hole

Oh what a day.  I woke during the night and could see Orion clearly through the Velux window. Not clear enough to blip though. Later I swam and then home, not to work but, to work - well personal admin.

On the agenda:  
1 contact HMRC re non payment of my refund
2 contact Social Care Direct for an update on Mum's referral
3 organise Willow's annual vax
4 phone the electrician re the outside light
5 deliver the new electric blanket to the Manor
6 buy essential supplies(milk, eggs, wine) from Sainsbury's
7 Order wine (do you see my priorities?)
8 pick up the 4 x 96 sachets of cat food.
9 send out info to the Choir and sort the members' lists
10 Book lunch for next week's catch up with J.

Outside it was warm and windy with some sun, till it rained. 

Quite an agenda.  So how did it go?

1 HMRC - 3 phone calls, 4 advisers, 4 hours, most of it on hold and no refund.  Apparently they are doing security checks and should have written to me.  Has now been referred to refund team and could take another 6 weeks to get a response/resolution not to mention money. That timescale takes us to mid November. 
2 The referral made in August means Mum is on the waiting list but it will be months, not weeks, before she gets to the top
3 Done!
4 Ran out of phone space to do that.  Carried forward to next week
5 Done!
6 I now have milk, eggs, apples, mangetout, tonic and wine. Done!
7 Done - do see my priorities?
8 Willow's meals are safe and in the garage. Done!
9 The info is out and membership lists were checked.  Well what else do you do while you are on hold - 'your call is important to us'. Done!
10 Done!!

I also answered a couple of work emails and had an unscheduled catch up call from my IFA who phoned during the first 'HMRC on hold' event.

I am now exhausted and I still have to cook dinner.

The bunnies at Pets at Home looked very calm and content. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.