BRIANW

By BRIANW

Sun, Sea, Sand, Huts & Fish & Chips, Broadstairs

Yet another train strike day today and yet another day having to be taken as part of my holiday entitlement for the year. Therefore, I've made the conscious decision that if I have to lose a day as holiday I'm bloody well going to make sure that I enjoy it and go somewhere on a micro trip.
Today we decided to revisit Broadstairs for the first time in a while and the journey down to get there was relatively stress and traffic jam free. We parked the car and headed straight to a pub by the beach for a pint each which turned out to the bracing side of expensive, £12.40 for the two! The weather was very mild, touching on the warm, so we chose to stroll along the golden sands to make the most  of it. On the route back around Viking Bay I spotted today's main image of this man snoozing, presumably after a wee bit too much sea, sand and fish and chips! The extra is one of the few beach huts where an owner seemed to be in residence. She looked supremely relaxed and content. After that we indulged in a big bag of chips to share followed by an ice cream each from the iconic Morelli's high on the cliff.
I so love going to the seaside both in and out of season and it's my all time favourite place to take photographs. I weirdly know when I head there, whether it be Margate, Ramsgate, Whitstable, Folkestone, Broadstairs or Brighton (to name but a few) that I will always capture something and today didn't disappoint.

Today's brilliant song is by Keaton Henson:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bJF_Q8lPybU

I love this wonderfully deadpan, droll but also melancholic video. Genius.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.