iaint

By iaint

Moment of Truth

09:18 in the car park close to the start of the Kirkcaldy Parkrun. 

It was very wet, cold and windy. It had rained all night. Well, I turned up, I started, and I finished. 

I really, really enjoyed my hot shower afterwards, and the hot porridge I made after it. 

It was miserable for the runners and walkers, but my heart went out to the volunteers who stood there for the best part of an hour getting wet and cold. 

As I expected my only other venture into the deluge was to visit the library and get some new books, pausing for coffee and cake at the Cafe Wemyss (in the same building). 

I had plenty of time (33 minutes and 5 seconds, to be precise) to consider the meaning of life as I squelched my way around the park, and of course rain was at the front of my mind. 

Anyway, 33:05 was a new personal best for me on the Kirkcaldy course and only 4 seconds slower than my fastest ever (at Linwood in April). I am glad I made the effort to turn up. 

The Extra is the scene at the start as everyone got increasingly cold, wet and miserable while waiting for the race director to send us on our way. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.