Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

Male Brimstone

I make no apologies for blipping a butterfly two days in a row.  I went into town this morning with my camera because there was supposed to be a 'parade' which actually turned out to be nothing more than Law Sunday, a very boring little walk from Guildhall to Cathedral by people in robes and silly hats.  So instead you have another butterfly from my garden.

This male brimstone looked completely fresh to me, so a huge contrast with yesterday's very end-of-season red admirals.  Like the red admirals, brimstones have a flight period of beginning March to end October, though oddly they do have three weeks off (last week June to third week July).  What wonderfully delicate and shapely little creatures they are.  I love how this one is hanging from the verbena as though completely weightless..

Have a happy rest-of-Sunday and a good start to the week xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.