Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

A metaphor for autumn

Tired after yesterday so no walk today.  Instead I did some gardening, camera at hand.

This red admiral really illustrates the end of summer, don't you think, with the loss of colour scales and the shredding of its wing margins.  It decided to sit on my clean washing of all places.  There's another in Extras, also tattered, trying to suck nectar from a dying buddleia flower.  Oh dear, so many metaphors for autumn!

The garden robin came down to snatch a few worms where I'd been working.

I don't know why I didn't just blip the butterflies and leave the gardening.  I've landed up as tired from digging as I would have been from walking.  Never mind, at least I've found yesterday's lost keys ;))

Enjoy your Saturday evening/Sunday morning  xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.