KathyH58

By KathyH58

October 8

Wave watching this afternoon after brunch. There were some gusty winds last night, but nothing serious. It knocked a few planters over on one side of the deck, all the other ones were fine. We had about an inch of rain, at least that was the amount in my rain gauge. So other than some waves along the coast Phillipe was a non-event here. I didn't hear about many power outages either.
Last winter we added another pub to our roster of regular places for brunch. We sell 50/50 tickets every week to raise money for out Christmas party. The waitress was asking me about it and I told her what it was for. A few minutes later the cook who looks after the buffet came over and handed me $5 for tickets. Then the waitress came back with 2 - $5 bills for more tickets. Then she was talking to a couple of her regular customers and brought another $10 over for tickets. It doubled the amount that we would have had just from the group. It's nice when the restaurants support us. Strangely enough, with that many extra tickets sold, one of our members won the draw.
Tomorrow is Thanksgiving Day here in Canada. We are taking the day off from work. I think I will go for a drive for a couple of hours in the morning. I bought a turkey breast to cook for my supper tomorrow night, so that will give me enough for meals for most of the week.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.