A day in the life

By Shelling

Towards light

Tomorrow I go abroad for the first time in ten years, that will be exciting in many ways, the Spanish language, for instance, has long been on my list of things I want to explore deeper, ever since I started my music studies at university level and took an interest in old primary sources of music literature concerning the guitar, its history and origin. Many of those books were  written during the fifteenth and sixteenth century, when Spain conquered what is now south America. The gold coming from there made it possible for Spain to flourish culturally and to produce many important works on music, instruments and art (in a very blunt way of putting it). In short, I wanted to be able to read those books from the source to gain deeper understanding. 

I studied Spanish and gained some knowledge but life got in the way and my interests became more diversed. Today, my aim is to know enough Spanish to be able to at least have simple conversations with "the common man", like myself and to broaden my interest in people and different cultures. Tomorrow I go on a short reconnaissance trip to southern Spain.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.