Peace

Gorgeous weather today, mild and low winds. I decided to go somewhere I never been but wanted to go to on my island. 
When I go places I most often go south, I like the landscape and the tranquility. North is another matter. Most people go north during summer, the largest city is  there with night life for the young and the best beach for the families. There are also lots of historic places to visit  but I avoid them during summer because of the hectic tourists. 
My goal for today was a place called "Sikavarp", I haven't found any name-history. During the 12-hundreds this was one of the largest trading centre on the island, since it's on the east coast the trades went to Russia and the Baltic countries. A chappel was built, it was mostly a storage house for all the goods but had a small chappel as well. The cross was there to ensure that the traders were protected by the bishop of Linköping on the mainland, the traders were travelling with little or no protection and the cross ensured that peace was guaranteed the merchandisers at this place. The cross was inside a stone-wall, you can see the foundation, inside the wall next to the cross arguments were settled. For their protection everyone paid tax to the bishop. It's hard to imagine all that going on here today but it's an exciting place to be.

The first extra is from my entrance, I always brush my teeth there in the morning if the weather permits. Today it most certainly did. Second extra is from a beach I visited on my way to Sikavarp. Never been there either but I'll go there in the summer, it's a wonderful beach with white sand and  dunes. The little wind came from the west so it was very still here on the east side. People were lying on the beach on blankets, some were sleeping, some was sitting in chairs reading. No one was swimming but maybe the little child setting its footprint, tested the chilly water.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.