Again and Again

By Ripitup

Across the decades

The invitation to reflect on the connections I have made through blip was not one I wanted to pass me by.  I had planned to revisit my #onetree project  as its been too long, the weather has been perfect and the connection to nature was one of the first things that sprung to mind.   It was not to be.  

Instead, as I passed this bus stop on the High Street, I found myself thinking about the human connection and the connection with my community.  I've not added to my 'humans of the High Street' collection for some time but an early one was at this location. I still see and greet some of the people I have photographed and I still have the confidence to ask stranger for a picture.  If there is one journal that still makes me curious about people it has to be this one. 

These days, for me,  it is more likely to be of their dog than them. Today it was a beautiful Amercan Bulldog puppy (could not resist an extra). I hope I see them again.

Local connections was something that led me to MarknLizzie.  Mark is an amazing photographer whose journal is filled with pictures of a landscape quite familiar to me and his curious observations of the humans that occupy it.  I've been lucky enough to meet M in his landscape and to see prints of some of these pictures.  One of these meetings was another of my blipmeet highlights as I got to meet, storyteller extraordinaire,  Kendallishere, herself who on a UK tour and another human whom I would need many, many more words to express my gratitude for having connected with.

The connections with others during my time here has been considerable and there are, likely, too many to name. In what already feels like a long post.  Itsablast organised the first in person blipmeet I joined in Cambridge . I still feel  connected to and curious about the blip journey of several of the blippers from that day.  C and I have had many cakemeets blipmeets since then and have both made new connections as a result of that first meeting. They (and the cake) have certainly enriched my life.

It feels like I am running out of steam now. I am certainly regretting writing this on my phone.  

I find myself looking forwards and hoping for a MASSIVE 20 year celebration.  I plan to be here.

There are too many journals that I go to for inspiration, to cheer me up, for something different, for something new. A real slice of this human condition.   This place IS excellent.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.