'The Scots' Church Melbourne'

The weather today was a proper winter's day, cold, wet and grey. My intention was to go into town to take a shot of the interior of St.Pauls Cathedral, but when I arrived there I saw that they had a special lunchtime concert on and there were people everywhere.

Okay, plan B, walk around town under an umbrella and look for something else to blip. I walked up Collins Street and found 'The Scots' Church on the corner of Russell Street which I have never been inside. They were also hosting some kind of afternoon tea and promoting some of their upcoming events and I was welcomed in and promptly offered a cup of tea and a biscuit.

I asked if they minded me taking a few photos and the lovely man said of course not, go ahead as you please but make sure you come back and have a biscuit with us.

This church has a particularly notable organ in it, designed and built in 1998 & 1999 by the the renowned Austrian firm Rieger Orgelbau and is the most important to be installed in a Melbourne Church in more than a century. The Rieger organ is notable for its superlative quality and solidity of its construction, its responsive action, excellent voicing and superbly balanced sound (Organ Historical Trust Journal, March 2000). The organ has 4 manuals and pedals and 64 speaking stops.

I did take a few images of the organ itself, but preferred this one looking back at the beautiful leadlight windows and some of the organ pipes either side.
Worth looking at this one LARGE to see the details.

Will get back to St. Pauls another day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.