Dawn's Journal

By DawnP

Porcelain Fungus

On the way home after a great weekend with my sister and BiL I popped into Polesden Lacey. The continuing summer-like weather had apparently drawn the crowds yesterday with over 3500 visitors. Fortunately today was much much quieter, though disappointedly the café was almost bare, Still the cheese scone I had for lunch was as delicious as normal.

I took one of the estate walks for my afternoon stroll and it turned out longer than I intended (I'd cropped off the way marker names when taking a photo of the map, and "chose" the wrong one!). Still, it was one I hadn't used before, and took me through some lovely cool woodland areas.

The fungi are finally beginning to wake up, and I was delighted to spot this a good population of porcelain fungus on a large fallen tree trunk which kept me occupied for a while. 

A good end to a good weekend.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.