curns' corner

By curns

Burberry Street

I had big plans to use today productively as it’s the only day I have during this time off work that I am at home. In the end I pottered around without much purpose all morning but did order a new iPhone when they became available at 1pm. I managed to snag a decent collection slot on the Sunday after they are released which, I think, will give me a day to update it. I’m upgrading from a three-year old model (12) and I wonder if I will notice the difference.

Afterwards, I went into central London. I had a very specific idea that I wanted to pick up some grey trousers, shoes and a blue shirt that can be worn to work. I predict that the new job will have a few extra days in the office and I am not sure I have enough shirts that fit me.  But, by the time I arrived on a very busy Oxford Street, I’d lost some enthusiasm.   I couldn’t really find what I was looking for in M&S and I walked back to Jermyn Street. I didn’t see what I wanted there and then, to compensate, probably spent too much money in Charles Tyrwhitt for shirt (although they measured me and it fits nicely, so maybe worth the extra). I did not find any shoes.

I’d got off the tube at Bond Street. I was initially taken a bit by surprise as, when I looked out of the tube window, I saw Burberry Street on the roundels.  I know there is no Burberry Street tube station but making the connection to Bond Street took a moment and I almost missed my stop. I gather it is - or is about to be - London Fashion Week and this is a station sponsorship.  I am sure the money helps TFL. It looks very nice but if it causes confusion to the traveller, maybe it has gone too far?

Home and then for some shopping as we don’t have very much in. I don’t think I got as much out of this day as I had hoped. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.