Onwards and upwards....

By Yana1

3208. Lunch at Rocpool, Inverness

Rocpool is my all time favourite restaurant and so a trip to Inverness is never complete without having lunch there.

Today I had a starter of Crispy Polenta with Buffalo Mozzarella and Parma Ham followed by Smoked Haddock and Cod Fish cake…..it was delicious!

We headed over to a place called Able Care which was a bus ride from the city centre (in the rain and with high winds!) so that I could buy a new walking stick.  My old one has decided to collapse in on itself occasionally making it a bit unreliable, plus I’ve had it for over 10 years so it’s served me well.

The young chap in the showroom was lovely and helpful and I chose a pink one quite similar to my existing one but with a three cornered pad on the bottom for additional stability.  

I asked him to bin my old one and we headed back to the bus stop to get back into town.
We had a wee wander around the shops and I picked up a really lovely green dress from a charity shop which I’m delighted with and will be warm for the cooler weather to come.  It didn’t feel like the 17 degrees it was supposed to be today as the wind was fierce but it wasn’t cold.

Back to the apartment for a cuppa and a rest and waiting to see what the weather is going to do next as it looks pretty dark outside just now, in which case I think we will stay put!

We had fun and games with the shower this morning as we couldn’t get it to switch off from the cold setting.  In the end I messaged the owner to ask what we were doing wrong and she sent a photo of what we had to press, (a completely black section on the shower box with no buttons on it?) and we finally got hot showers.  The host has been very helpful as when we arrived we couldn’t find any towels and it turned out that the cleaner had forgotten to put them out.  It took a couple of hours but it was all sorted and the apartment is lovely.

Home tomorrow and we’re possibly not away until next month again when we may go to Ayr for the weekend, after that it will be the Borders in December for a weekend to see my eldest and their husband.  We did have a nice message from our friends from Inverurie this morning, they are going to come and stay with us at the beginning of November which will be lovely….

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.