Hillyblips

By Hillyblips

One Love

The baby muntjac came out of the undergrowth and began to pester mum for food. She wasn't hugely amused and soon swung round to put a stop to it. 

A first for me to see a very rarely spotted muntjac in the feeding scenario. The Extra is what I would normally expect to see on a day out if I was lucky enough to have spotted one. I had stopped the car in a lane hoping nothing would come down it  and was chuffed to see this without hinerance.

I did a bit of Googling and was astonished to learn that they appeared 15-35 million years ago with remains in Poland, France and Germany. This species is a relative to Asia liking dense rainforest and vegetation. They could also originate as escapees from the Woburn Abbey estate about 1925. 

More doctors prescriptions to pick up today regardless of my visit to the opticians late yesterday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.