Hillyblips

By Hillyblips

The Splits

In my diary for the last year has been the spectacle of the bearded tits on the grit trays at RSPB Leighton Moss. It's something I've always wanted to do and I've been watching the weather charts worrying that I would again have to put it off for next year.

Early alarm  and a three hour drive up there but actually it went quickly due to BBC Sounds and a couple of murder mysteries.

I got into the carpark at 9:00 but then had to find my way around as the Visitors Centre  was yet to open but  no kidding the carpark was full! Heaving .. AND then you realise that there were people more in the know than you.

Walking to the grit tray I (was told by a person in the know), the cameras were lined up but there was a space. It was an impressive sight frankly the tripods and the gear. I thought I must be missing something at this point and was feeling a bit intimidated if I'm honest. I hate rocking up looking like I know little about the situation I'm in but the plus side is a big plus side because you hear more. A lot more. Got chatting to the guys there who first off told me I'd just missed the bearded reedlings  - story of my life - but they would be back .... with a pause ..hopefully. I do hope they got some sort of shot ...because listening in I wasn't so sure. 

After driving home I managed to get an appointment with the Opticians as I've had an eye infection for over three weeks.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.