analogconvert13

By analogconvert13

Memorial Hall. Lumix M4/3 20mm

Another episode in the Homeward Bound Chronicles.  This time, Harvard University's Memorial Hall.  We've met it before here, almost exactly a year ago.  That time, I set out to contrast post-Civil War Memorial Hall with the 1970s Graduate School of Design, strange bed fellows across the street from each other.  The elaborate slate roof on Mem Hall was completely refurbished last summer, and I made a note then to capture it.  
Some of you have been wondering, I'm sure, how I manage to capture these scenes from the driver's seat without having an accident.  Here's the secret:  the wise folk who devise Boston's, and the City of Cambridge's traffic patterns, clearly feel that the solution to all problems of traffic flow is to install more traffic lights, sometimes only a hundred feet apart.  Then, just to show who's the boss, they make sure that the lights aren’t in sync.  This way, driver frustration can be increased, and more gasoline burned to help Global Warming along.  The result is that drivers trying to get home, spend a lot of time waiting for traffic lights to turn in their favor.  Since I follow pretty-much the same route on my commute, I've learned where the long lights are.  If I'm lucky, I'll end up near the front of the line, and have an unobscured vista in front of me.  Today, I was front-of-the-line at this intersection, and the pinpoint sunset light was just glancing off the western facets of the building.  Auto-focus and Aperture Priority did the rest.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.