curns' corner

By curns

Recycle

Tuesday is office day. I seem to mention this every week. And it’s another week where I can record that the trains ran to time.

There’s not a lot to report about these visits to an office. We get a different kind of work done when we are together; there is much less written down but there’s a lot of discussion and ideas are drawn on a whiteboard.  We book a meeting room so that we are all together and not in the open-plan space downstairs. I think it works very well for us but I do sometimes wonder if we’re unintentionally hiding from the rest of the organisation.  There was a Product Update meeting and JG retreated to another meeting room as he was presenting a small portion of the call and, I guess, wanted to do it without us all breathing over his shoulder.

Apparently, it was my choice for lunch today so I opened to take us all to the hot food place for a Sweet Chilli Chicken. I felt a bit bad as Amir is fasting for Ramadan but decided he wanted to come for the walk with us. We ate in the canteen but he, probably sensibly, retreated back to the meeting room.  

I never know what photograph to take on office days.  Obviously, I can’t share anything about most of the work but I am conscious that the office environment was one so familiar to me that I didn’t give it a second thought. But now, in our post-pandemic world, it’s an occasional thing. I have a feeling that for some it will fade even more so I want to capture something that represents the space. I am not sure recycling notices are symbolic of the office but when I was in the kitchen making coffee it seemed to represent the moment.

Home, chatting with Mo as far as Clapham. When I got off the train at Raynes Park, the person in front of me let himself out of the gate at the far end of the platform. He appeared to have a key so I think this was allowed but I had always assumed this was some kind of emergency exit to the small industrial estate behind the station. Fascinating to see somebody leaving that way. Frustratingly, I used my watch to tap out instead of the ticket I’d bought. Staines is not on the contactless system so every time I travel into work I have to buy a ticket but it’s auto pilot to tap out at Raynes Park. I am for forever trying to get refunds.

PY had a Deliveroo offer and we decided that tonight we’d use it before it expired with a sushi platter from Sticks & Sushi. It wasn’t a lot of food but I was quite full from lunch so it was sufficient for me.  Today has really been about some good food. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.