TrishaR

By TrishaR

Disembodiement

More treasures unearthed. This time a tin with various items which I will blip in the future.

This document is from 1919 when my Papa was disembodied from the Black Watch. I had to look up what disembodiment meant in terms of military. What I can gather is that he wasn’t in the army when went to war he was in the TA’s and his regiment wasn’t a regular unit, he was the 4th regiment and he could be called up after this date if needed again.

He signed up for the war on 15 August 1914 and left on 15 March 1919. Served in the battlefields of France and Belgium. He narrowly escaped death, he was standing next to a comrade when he went to get post and the lad he was standing next to was killed by a bomb and my Papa was injured by shrapnel which left him with a permanent injury to his left arm. He was sent home where he took on a job of policeman from April 1918 to Jan 1919. One of his jobs was to walk round the village (Blackford) to make sure no lights were visible from houses during the blackout.

He was my best friend till I was 7. Always my hero.



Had a lovely morning chatting with Moira and Adele in Hinterland. Did me good meeting them.

In the afternoon popped up to Isla Court to give Denise a bag of wool. There were a few in the lounge so had a chat. They are knitting little hats for babies in Ethiopia atm. They told me that a lady has been allocated mum’s flat. She’s 93! I was quite shocked. She def won’t be there 17 years but I hope she’s as happy in it as mum was.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.