SparseRunner

By SparseRunner

Turf

Today a taxi took me to Edinburgh airport, where I flew uneventfully to JFK Terminal 4. I had an almost five-hour layover before my next flight. An hour was spent getting through immigration. Before I went to my gate, I took a shuttle bus to Terminal 1 with the aim of adding New York State to my list of regions where I've taken a Turf zone. However, the zone was situated in the light rail station that is closed for renovation! The other JFK zone is at Terminal 8 and, on the way the shuttle bus passed through the Terminal 1 zone, allowing me to take it after all - using the technique of blocking the GPS once in the zone so my phone thought it was still there. [You have to stay in a zone for almost 30 seconds to take it.] The zone at Terminal 8 was not entirely straightforward, as large buildings affect the GPS. I still hadn't got it when I reached limit of the public area of the airport. I didn't fancy being stopped, but as I moved   away, the GPS shift worked in my favour and I took the zone! I then took the light rail back to Terminal 4 and went to the gate for my next flight, and still had two hours to wait!

Tomorrow should be even more exciting!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.