Woolley

By Woolley

Fishing tackle

Another long day! Up too late to get the bus to town to go to communion so walked in which I was glad about as I didn’t get much chance to walk later! Opened the shop in church after communion and sold two small gifts to a polish family who had come over for their daughters wedding last Saturday!

Closing up at 13.00 I went to a local bakery for lunch and ordered the ham sandwich. I was forgotten and had to remind them that I had paid for a sandwich! They very quickly got one ready and gave me a pastel de nata as compensation!

I walked to the vue cinema to see Oppenheimer with John who has free tickets. Three hours which actually flew by and it was fascinating to watch the interplay between characters and of course to set aside one’s disbelief! Nobody knows for sure what happens in political situations but power corrupts! And the fate of the world rests on the smallest of choices and can turn on a sixpence.

John gave me a lift home and I had a quick turnaround to go to choir practice. We had our AGM which went smoothly and a good sing. We are in the middle of doing Samson which is a bit unfortunate given the current awful situation in Israel and Palestine. It was mooted that we should change the words in places but it was written in a different time about a historic event! It is uncomfortable to sing “and sweep this race from out the land”! Have to sleep now so will catch up with your journals tomorrow!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.