Living my dream

By Mima

Thank you Kate Sheppard

On 18th September 1893 The Electoral Act was passed by the NZ Parliament, making this country the first in which women had the right to vote in parliamentary elections.

Just 10 weeks later 84% of all NZ women aged over 21 were enrolled, and 82% of them voted in the General Election: a remarkable feat.

Kate Sheppard was the leading light in the NZ suffrage movement, and after success here she went on to contribute to the burgeoning movements in Canada, the UK and elsewhere. 

You can read more about her here.

As I cast my two votes today, I quietly thanked her, and those who campaigned alongside her to make this possible. Their efforts mean I feel it is imperative that I cast my ballot.

Bean came along as well, although dogs don’t have the vote in NZ. Not yet: I think they might make more sensible choices than humans sometimes.

The remainder of the day is much as usual. Line trimming. Watering. More line trimming. And making a Manchego cheese.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.