ArcLight+

By ArcLight

Evening frolics

I was genuinely torn as to which photo to use - this or the extra.

It was a very full day. I was up early (having struggled to get to sleep in the evening because of the two hour time difference), in order to do some personal business which represents a final rupture with Finland. Doesn't make me feel good. Anyway, after a trip out to the eastern suburbs, I ended back in Hakaniemi, where I was pleased to see that the renovation of the old covered market has been completed. I enjoyed a coffee and a cinnamon bun there, before taking a tram over to the railway station where the jobsworth VR (Finnish railways) person told me that I couldn't use my ticket on the train an hour beforehand. Hey ho. I sat around for an hour waiting for my proper train to Turku.

JS picked me up from the station, to take me over to the Law Faculty, where I was participating in a work in progress session with some presentations by early career researchers. Nice. Some very interesting papers.

JS dropped me back at the station, which is also where the hotel is located, so I checked in and then ambled over to a nearby pub to meet some of the others. That kicked off a busy evening of jollifications and frolics. Pub, restaurant, pub, taxi, hotel bar. I must have been relaxed, which probably says something about the pressure I've felt has lifted in the last couple of days.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.