OrcadesDays

By Orc2009

Cattle Egret

This is very distant and the conditions very poor so I am posting it for the bird rather than the quality of shot!
The forecast was for gales and wintry showers all day, so I had decided to stay home, or at least just around Kirkwall, but this egret was reported where I could get to by bus in Stenness, so I headed out. It was first seen last Saturday, but generally in fields far from roads and difficult to pin down. I walked about a bit before spotting it sheltering in the lea of a wall and I was a fair bit away when it started foraging in the field. Someone posted that they saw it catch a huge frog earlier, but still hungry obviously. I have seen large and little egret here in Orkney but this is the first cattle egret for me in Scotland. I read a local birder say he had been in Orkney 40 years and not got one, so good that he got it today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.