PandaPics

By pandammonium

Big clouds in a big sky

The weather for parkrun was lovely for running in: sunny but chilly. Despite that, we had fewer people than usual – possibly because there’s a 10k race tomorrow.

An afternoon of heavy rain yesterday made the course slippery in places; rumblings of the winter course were heard.

Lovely Luna heard her dad say there were ‘lots of treats’ for her. This is a foolish thing to say within hearing distance of Luna; he should know better.

Luna spent the next 30–45 minutes sitting and staring up at me with her big brown eyes while I gave it the finish tokens. If that didn’t work, she’d cock her head ever so slightly. If I managed to resist that look, she’d alternate between looking at me and the bag with the treats in. That could not be resisted.

The weather seemed too nice to hide inside from, so after parkrun, I decided we’d go somewhere.

Trouble with that plan was that Network Rail are working on the bypass near the train line, which means that huge lorries are trundling through the village town streets. The streets aren’t designed for such lorries. The works also mean that the trains are buses.

We decided on Ely because it’s a short journey.

I took Mr Pandammonium to the cafe I frequent, where he met the owners and their little sausage dogs. They’re such sweeties.

We mooched round the market, one of us more interestedly than the other. There were quite a few shiny things I liked, and there was a tote bag with a fitting slogan for me.

There was a stall selling old tools, all metal and wood. I picked up a big, heavy wrench and wielded it.

‘That would make a good murder weapon.’ I noticed a man behind Mr Pandammonium looking at the tools. ‘Not that I would.’ I put the wrench down. Best not look at the big axes.

After that, we went to a pub where I tried a pint of a local beer for local people. I won’t be having that beer again. I think citra hops are overrated (and overused).

Our timing for the train-bus home was poor, so we had to stop off in the Cutter. I had the cocktail of the week. It was very raspberry-y, and I liked it a lot; not a citra hop in sight.

I took the photo on the train-bus home, which is why there are reflections in it. Holding the phone flat against the bus window didn’t work because it was at the wrong angle. Taking the photo on the bus is why it’s wonky.

Back at home, we watched some telly (Ghosts and Guilt), made our tea (not-prawns and linguine), and now Mr Pandammonium is watching the rugby (Ireland v New Zealand). I’m feeling the soporific effects of afternoon drinking.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.