CrocusMan

By TonyG

Sitting in the Sun

But the shaft of sunlight was brief and the wind, very chilly.   Fireman Josh had his back to the smokebox for the warmth that it gave!   On Wednesday, when I was guarding, his Mum was the Fireman and for many years his Dad was an Engine Driver.  We think of the railway community as a big family but there are small family stories played out too.

Lunchtime cover at Aber Cafe on a Diesel gala day.  That's a niche market target audience, especially in October.  Trade was light even though the weather was bright.  After work I prepared tea for Mum, Chris and I then took Meg for a walk while the minced beef and vegetable pie was baking in the oven, adding the pastry top on my return home and giving it a final bake while the veg cooked.   Mum has gone back to Chris's now but will hopefully come over and stay a few more days before she returns to London at the beginning of November.

I have a day off tomorrow and will be doing a refresher course on the pottery wheel in the afternoon but meantime I have a new project to work on at home.   All will be revealed - if I like how it turns out!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.