ClickSnapSmile

By KirstyHalbert

Duck-Feeding.

Pentax K1000, Kodak BW 400CN 135, ISO 400.

After my story of childhood trauma yesterday, I am posting this picture as a therapeutic exercise! This was definitely the best bit of my day :o) We had a lazy start this morning, then Mum made us a packed lunch which we took to Harewood House with us to eat on the grass by the water park. It was so hot, the electric-blue dragonflies were flitting around everywhere and the grass was warm to sit on. The rhododendron trees were shedding flowers like huge confetti, and I kept one in my hair a while. After we ate, we wandered around the bird garden, which Mum and I visited two weeks ago. The duck with the seven offspring only had one left - and she promptly abandoned it when she got frightened by a loose dog. One of the park wardens told me that she was a very bad parent, and he'd probably have to hand-rear her remaining duckling - I was just glad he was willing to get involved as 'social services' :o)

The red-legged seriema from two weeks ago looked to be enjoying the sun greatly, but most of the other birds were flopped on the ground or hiding under shrubbery, so I decided to go with a photo of me and a mallard. Photo credit to M! You can buy a small handful of seed for 20p and the bolder birds will come and snaffle it out of your hand. They're not very gentle, but their beaks aren't sharp enough to hurt - it's just a bit pinchy!

We had a drink on the terrace in front of the main house and watched the red kites flying high over the landscape designed by Capability Brown, with no other buildings in sight, but with the outskirts of Leeds just over the brow of the furthest hill. A lovely day out!

When we got home, we decided to have another BBQ - this time eaten inside as a sneaky wee breeze had crept up. We watched the Comedy Gala; a real mix of celebrity comedians, some of them distinctly unfunny but all for Great Ormond Street, so a good cause. We're off to Bramham Horse Trials tomorrow and I'm so excited!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.