ClickSnapSmile

By KirstyHalbert

Leap of Faith.

Bramham Horse Trials today! We all got up very early and were buying our tickets on the gate at 8.30am. It was definitely worth it; the queue was already quite long. We started off watching the showjumping, and I got to see Pippa Funnell on Or Noir de la Loge. I had a poster of her up on my wall when I was a horse-mad-12-year-old. William Fox-Pitt (another poster-subject for me 10 years ago) was leading the competition with Chilli Morning when we left, and his second horse was doing OK too.

M is not horsey in the slightest, and it's a bit weird introducing him to it at this point in my life. I went through a stage where horses occupied my every thought - at one point I worked three part-time jobs just to own half of a horse, sharing him with another lady. Now my back is too weak after an injury to ride for long periods, even if I could get myself out of the city to a stables and afford the extortionate prices. The last time I rode I was flat out for the following 48 hours struggling to even sit in a moving car. Going to the gym regularly is helping build strength, though, and if I could start a little at a time, I might one day get back into it.

M didn't know the difference between showjumping and cross-country, so I explained everything I knew, and pointed out which riders were doing well and which weren't counting their strides properly or keeping the impulsion going. We saw two fallers; one not so bad and one that looked extremely painful - but all riders and horses walked away from both. We walked nearly the whole 4 km course, then made our way back to Mum and Dad, who were camped out near the water jump for a picnic. It was gorgeous and sunny and so warm - M and I were both in shorts and t-shirts, what a treat.

Dad twisted his ankle badly last week, but he did well walking round a few more XC fences with us after lunch. This is the Aardvark Safaris Trakhner; the stretch required of the horse is incredible - and all the riders were taking it at full pelt.

By the time we headed back to the car, we'd been at the event for six sunshine-filled, horse-tastic hours. We'd drunk a lot of Pimm's, beer and Kopperberg and M and I were both sleeping like little kids in the back seat by the time we hit the motorway. Mum made steak frites for dinner and we played a game of Scrabble before bed. Perfect day!

There's been a film-photography-induced gap in my Blips for a couple of weeks - I'm picking them up tomorrow so I shall fill a few blanks then! In the meantime, there are many back-blips...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.