Viewpoint

By Viewpoint

Black-winged Stilt with Flamingos

Home yesterday - I think this was the highlight of my day as Frank took us to see the Flamingos before dropping us off at the airport.  I think he said that the smaller pied bird we can see here is a black-winged stilt.  There was also a greenshank and redshank on the margins of the pond.  These lagoons have formed on the edge, close to the airport runway.  These were taken at the full extent of the lens I had with me (micro-four-thirds - so double what is shown).

I survived better than expected yesterday as I'd had very little sleep, but was glad to finally get on the plane and just sit.  The heat had returned yesterday, so I suffered from having to get rid of my water before we went through security - they really should have more water fountains about.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.