Sgwarnog: In the Field

By sgwarnog

Light

Something of a grotesque theme emerging as we approach the  end of the month. The end of day light on York Minster was irresistible.

I’d headed across to York to catch some FA Cup action and also for my first visit to York City’s new out of town stadium. I hadn’t known it was race day too, but the heaving platforms at Leeds soon let me know. 

On arrival in York I had a bit of time before I needed to catch a bus out to the ground, so visited the Amnesty bookshop, securing another possibility for October’s Love Blippin’ Books theme of Spookybooky in the process. (All the while thinking what the bag search people at the stadium were going to make of this guy with a backpack full of books.) 

The ground is co-located with a retail/leisure park, as many new build stadiums are. It didn’t have much character on the outside, but at least it is a traditional rectangle with four stands close to the pitch rather than a bowl (extra). The York fans that I spoke to seemed pleased with it. 

The visiting team were Southern Premier League side Needham Market, a couple of leagues lower than York City. They proved resilient to York’s possession game, and although City had a few chances the game ended 0-0, meaning a replay in Suffolk on Tuesday. 

Back in town I could see the Minster glowing like a beacon, so headed across to enjoy the view.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.