HeidiHH

By HeidiHH

New curtains

From my mum and dad's things-that-didn't-fit-in-the-new-apartment pile. Also the lantern that is outside behind the window is from that pile.



It took me most of today too, to put everything into their place. And to find a place. Then I went outside and did some pre-winter work in the garden. Loaded lots of stuff to the greenhouse for the winter. Understood that most of my big pots are from the same pile too, but received during the summer.



It's funny. I think we have everything we might need. After Spain, we have only bought sofas, few cupboards and few chairs (like a home office chair). Some entertainment stuff and some clothes too (warm clothes and shoes have been needed). That aside, almost everything is something we've gotten from my parents. Table clothes, towels, dishes, storage boxes, curtains, all these big and small things that I can't even list. My mum has a very good taste, so everything is such good quality. I feel very blessed.

But it's also a funny thing to realize that I basically need nothing anymore. Well, food, toothpaste, electricity and such, but as things... We need nothing. I'm having a hard time to come to terms with that. And I don't know why. Maybe because the whole western culture is so commercial and shopping focused. (I don't enjoy shopping at all.) And it's not that I wanna want anything or that I even before wanted something. Just suddenly realizing that I have everything I need, and it made me pause over it. It's a good thing too. I feel like I got to some kind of "level", like in a game, and now I'm there and I can just follow others still trying to get there.

I might need some time to just enjoy this "level" :-D.

No idea why this is messing my head.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.