helenann

By helenann

Not quite a bee

This morning it was sunny, but cold. Martin went out bird watching with RSPB from the village of  Cheriton, a few miles from here, but I knew I would get chilled with the slow pace  so stayed at home to do laundry and  cooking. I did look at the Michaelmas  Daisies  and they were full of all manner of insects, including a Red Admiral butterfly and many different  bees,  busily collecting nectar  and pollen. However, my best photo was of this Hoverfly which I think is a Drone-fly  (Eristalis tenax), so called because it closely resembles a honey bee drone.      

(The birdwatchers didn't see many bird species on the farmland and by the river, but did spot some late Swallows, Red Kites and Little Egrets.
Apparently it was frosty in Cheriton.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.