talloplanic views

By Arell

Archery

An amazing day of big roads, little roads, tiny roads, hills, sheep, pokey wee villages, a horde of motorbikers, a random conversation with a van driver, spectacular views, spectacular railway infrastructure, some lovely food and hot chocolate, and lots of miles riding with @BikerBabe again.

Our route took in the winding single track roads through Forest of Bowland where I had never been before, with expansive views from the top towards the Lake District. Fidra saw her Pan Euro cousin at Devil's Bridge but didn't have a chance to say hello. Later on we had a good look at the old railway viaduct at Lowgill, which I've seen from the train when travelling on the West Coast Main Line, but I had never been to see it in person. Fidra and Biscuit are just visible, parked under the viaduct. Then we rode up to Tebay services for good food and chat and to warm up a bit – it was jolly cold out – and final goodbyes until next time.

I stopped at Southwaite services to put on more layers, turned up Fidra's heated handlebar grips to maximum, and then blasted north on the motorway as far as Annandale where I stopped and nearly bought fuel but instead just jumped up and down for a while to warm up.  I filled up at Abington which was an utter, utter rip-off. I should have waited until Biggar where it was much cheaper. I was actually so cold that I hurried into the cafe to sit and look at my map for a while.

The ride home from there was a slower exercise and it was pitch black in the middle of nowhere, and I was grateful for the powerful headlamps on my bike.

And so to bed!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.