lrjlo - Suburban Explorer

By lrjlo

The uncertainty of change

Apologies to anyone reading this. I've been pretty lax at this lately. Everything has been on top of me and certain things have fallen by the wayside. You might remember last month I posted that I'd applied for a job. Since then I've had two interviews and yesterday I got a call offering me a job. It isn't the job I originally applied for but it's a similar job that I feel I'd be better suited to and the hiring managers thought the same.

I've not given notice on my current job yet. I'm waiting till I get written confirmation of the new job. It pays more than my current job but it's in central London so it'll be quite a big change. I'm going to have to move closer into London or else I won't survive the commuting. I've got so much crap here, I really need to tidy up but I'm not too sure where to put it all.

I feel guilty for leaving my team at work. My manager has been so supportive and I've learned a lot and developed my confidence. It hasn't all been great. I've also had some episodes of high anxiety and had to be signed off with stress back in January. I think more recently the combination of training courses in dealing with people and having counselling has lessened my anxiety and made it easier for me to be around the people who I have previously been confronted unreasonably aggressively by.

Maybe this will turn out to be a terrible decision. Maybe the people will destroy my confidence and my anxiety will return. But I cannot stay in the same place my whole life for fear of what might happen if I try something new.

The photo is of the rain through the front door and frosted window this evening.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.