Life is a Challenge!

By Honeycombebeach

THERE'S GOOD NEWS, MORE GOOD NEWS AND...

...and not so good news - so let’s start with the good news first!

Hello Lovely Blippers,

My name is KD - I will tell you why later - and I am a little grey wolf, who travelled all the way up from Devon in the hope of being able to join the Silly Saturday Gang.  I was brought by Gill, a friend of the HCBs as I had heard about the Silly Saturday Gang on the “grapevine” - news travels fast in the animal kingdom - and I knew that a fellow Devonian, Sid, had joined the gang last year, so I was very hopeful on the long journey to Swindon.

I am one of a group of four grey wolves who have lived at Wildwood near Ottery St. Mary in Devon since 2017 - the other three are my brothers, so as the only female, I needed to keep them in order.  Goodness knows who will do that now I am joining the Silly Saturday Gang!  Anyway, I understand there is a big meeting to see if I am a suitable applicant to join, so I hope I will soon be part of this illustrious gang whose fame has spread far and wide.  Watch this space!  I’m hoping that my good looks and wonderful bushy tail - see second photograph - will get me in, if nothing else and I promise not to try and eat any of the others!

I was told that I had to put on these ridiculous pink glasses, as it was a special month called BCAM, short for Breast Cancer Awareness Month, where all you lovely Blippers keep clicking on this LINK so that those who cannot afford to pay for a mammogram can have one free.  When I heard that, of course, I was happy to wear them.

My brothers and I are all named after singers, and I am named after K.D. LANG, the stage name for Kathryn Dawn Lang, a Canadian pop and country singer-songwriter - quite appropriate as I know Mrs. HCB sings sometimes.

The second piece of good news is that Mrs. HCB had her first shower without using the shower seat today!  YAY - she is making progress and all went well, thanks to the grab rails in the shower.

However, the not-so-good news is that when Mr. HCB got on the scales this morning because both he and Mrs. HCB need to lose some weight - well are you surprised after seeng that afternoon tea yesterday? - he heard a voice saying “One at a time please!”  

Mind you, it wasn’t much better when Mrs. HCB got on the scales SO, and more not-so-good news is that as it is only 70 days until Christmas, they have decided to do it together so they can help one another.  That’s real togetherness for you!  This is another “Watch this Space” moment - and hopefully there will be good news to report next week. 

With love to you all - and I hope you will be seeing more of me once I have been “cleared” to join the Silly Saturday Gang.

KD xxx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.